GMS asserts dominance at Dover

21-year-old Zane Smith won the KDI 200 at Dover International Speedway after starting 7th. Smith led 50 laps tying his team 24-Brett Moffitt for most laps led.

This season’s rookie class is exceptionally talented. Smith won his second race in three races and Christian Eches led 34 laps while Raphael Lessard was competitive all day long. Unfortunately, Lessard finished 19th. Seeing Chandler Smith, Carson Hocevar and Sam Mayer perform well in their first respective starts at Dover excites me for next season’s Rookie of the Year competition.

Chandler Smith will replace Lessard; Zane Smith will replace Gragson at JR Motorsports allowing Mayer to drive the 21 truck; and Hocevar will drive the #44 full-time in 2021.

Jeff Gluck reported the Hendrick Motorsports has chosen Johnson’s replacement in the #48 in 2021. As much as I hope it to be Erik Jones, Bowman was impulsively signed to an extension after he won the Auto Club 400 in March. Alas, he will be driving this car because Ally signed a four-year extension last year.

Published by Michael J. Salvagni

I am an aspiring sports journalist. I tal;k sports. Keep it here for your daily dose of breaking sporting news.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: